top of page
  • Writer's picturePolly Starkie

Maia Bouchier on maiden international century: “I've just started to trust myself more”

Maia Bouchier scored her maiden international century, scoring the winning runs for England in a comfortable 8 wicket thrashing of New Zealand. New Road, Worcester became an amphitheatre as the comical ploys by England’s duo allowed Bouchier to reach the milestone, simultaneously concluding the game.

WORCESTER, ENGLAND - JUNE 30: Maia Bouchier of England celebrates after scoring two runs off the last ball to complete a maiden first class century during the 2nd Women's Metro Bank ODI match between England and New Zealand at Visit Worcestershire New Road on June 30, 2024 in Worcester, England. (Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

Sophie Ecclestone’s 5-fer in the first innings set England up to chase a mere 142, a target they reached with ease within 25 overs. Opening the batting, Bouchier was the backbone of the batters, her century coming from 88 deliveries.


“A lot of emotions,” Bouchier said, speaking after her performance. “I was just super nervous when I got to about 94, I was just so pleased to contribute to the team and obviously get us the series win,” she added.


It could have been heartbreak as Bouchier was struck on the pads on 92*, Jess Kerr’s delivery staying low. The umpire’s initial decision was not out, DRS reviewing as ‘umpire’s call’, a saving grace for the 25-year-old.


“You could probably guess!” she said when asked about her emotions, waiting for the review. “I was just super happy that it was umpire’s call.”


Vice-captain, Nat Sciver-Brunt, played a selfless innings, scoring an uncharacteristic 2* from 12 deliveries. Bouchier was stuck on 96* at the non-striker’s end, adrenaline pumping as England only required four runs, the same number Bouchier required to reach her maiden century. Accumulating dot balls, Sciver-Brunt entertained the crowd, blocking shots she typically would send to the boundary.


“At the start of the game, she [Nat Sciver-Brunt] did our little speech in the huddle, and she just said one ball at a time and that's exactly what she said to me when I was on 96,” Bouchier explained. “My heart rate was going through the roof!”


In the past 12 months, regionally and internationally, Bouchier has moved up a gear and has become a mainstay for England in the top order. “I think I've just started to trust myself more and I've got a lot more confidence in the way I play,” she said. “I time the ball quite well and that's one of my big strengths so using those as much as I can.”


An overcast day in Worcester may not be memorable to most but for Maia Bouchier, it could be the spring board to an illustrious international career.

21 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page